SIGMAOPT is the optimization special interest group of ANZIAM. The group consists of a forum for Australian and New Zealand optimization specialists to interact. The Optimization group holds annual meetings: the Optimization Annual Workshop.

The Optimization group brings together scientists from Australia and New Zealand in order to:

  • Maintain, promote and further develop the theory and practice of optimization and optimal control;
  • Attract students to the discipline.

Rules of Procedure


SIGMAOPT Executive

  • Chair: Julien Ugon (Federation Univ.)
  • Secretary: Yalçin Kaya (Univ. South Australia)
  • Treasurer: Guoyin Li (Univ. NSW)
  • Committee: to be elected


  • The first Annual Conference of Optimization will be held at the Centre for Computer Assisted Mathematical Research and Applications at the University of Newcastle in February.
  • Fully refereed proceedings will be produced from each conference and will be available for purchase

Relevant Conferences

Relevant Books

Relevant Sites

Optimization Page at the University of Newcastle

Updated: 09 Oct 2017