Engineering Mathematics Group

The Engineering Mathematics Group (EMG) was established in 1992 to foster and promote mathematics within the field of engineering. A history of the Engineering Mathematics Group can be found here. The group's constitution can be found here.

The biennial Engineering Mathematics and Applications Conference (EMAC) is typically held in odd years and provides a forum for researchers interested in the development and use of mathematical methods in engineering and applied mathematics. It aims to foster interactions between mathematicians and engineers, both from academia and industry. A long-running feature of EMAC is the inclusion of special sessions on engineering/mathematics education focusing on the needs of both engineering and applied mathematics undergraduates.

Engineering Mathematics Group award for Teaching Excellence

In 2021, EMG will present the inaugural Engineering Mathematics Group award for Teaching Excellence. The award recognises excellence and innovation in the teaching of engineering mathematics and statistics in higher education and will be presented at the EMAC conference in 2021. Subsequent awards will be presented on a biennial basis.

Click to download the rules for the award and the application form.

2021 Submission

Applications should be sent to the Chair of the Selection Committee (TBA).

EMAC 2017

The conference was held at the Science Centre on the University of Auckland’s city campus, from 29th November – 1st December, 2017.

Dr Alys Clark (co-organiser) with plenary speakers: Caroline Yoon, Graham Weir, Michael Forbes, Philippa Martin, and Louise Olsen-Kettle
Top Student Talk Awarded to Michael Gravatt by EMAC Chair Bronwyn Hajek. (Photo credit: Mark McGuiness.)
emac2017.jpg  emac2017.jpg 
Left: Highly Commended Student: Win Min Tun. Right: Highly Commended Student: James Cavallo. (Photo credit: Mark McGuiness.)
emac2017.jpg  emac2017.jpg 
Left: Highly Commended Student: Alison Schroeder. Right: Highly Commended Student: Faheem Zaidi. (Photo credit: Mark McGuiness.)
Conference dinner at the Fale Pasifika.

Information about past editions of EMAC can be found here.

Updated: 04 Mar 2020